Instructors have the ability to reset their students’ tests and quizzes. This means that the students’ work on that test or quiz will be erased, including their grade and history. This irreversible step applies to tests with multiple attempts, as well!

When would you want to reset a student’s test or quiz? 

This action is useful to revert a student’s test or quiz attempt if something prevented them from doing their best. Perhaps the student experienced some technical difficulties or was late or sick, and you wish to give them another chance to give their best effort. Resetting may be a good idea if a student needs an extension past a strict due date, but has used all of their attempts (If you allow multiple attempts). 

How do I reset the test or quiz?

To reset a test or quiz, go to your course’s child section in which the appropriate student is enrolled. Navigate to the quiz or test, and click on the student in question. On this student’s quiz or test page, click Options in the top right-hand corner. Click Reset Assessment

If this is quiz or a test containing only one attempt, the history and grade will be deleted. The student’s quiz or test status will revert to “Not Started,” the grade in alta will revert to “--” and they will be free to start again! If you use a Learning Management System, the grade in your gradebook will revert to "0" (it will not be deleted altogether).

If this is a test with multiple attempts, only the last attempt taken will be reset. If you’d like to reset more than one or all of your student’s attempts, you can repeat this reset action until satisfied. Please note that the student’s test status will still read “Complete” is there is at least one attempt completed. Once you’ve reset an attempt, the grade of the test will be updated to reflect the best score out of the remaining attempts present. This will also be in your CSV export and Learning Management System, if you use one!

Again, please note that this action is permanent and cannot be undone!

Did this answer your question?